Bulletin Part-I

(Brief summary of proceedings)

Tuesday, 23rd March 2010/ Chaitra 02. 1932 (Saka)


No. 32

2.04 PM       Dr. Yoganand Shastri, Hon’ble Speaker in Chair


 2.05 PM


Hon’ble Members Shri Rajesh Lilothia and Shri Hari Shanker Gupta sought to know the fate of the notices of the Breach of Privileges and Contempt of the House given by them against the Leader of Opposition, Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra.

The Chair stated that these would be considered after the Question Hour.


2.06 PM

Tribute to Martyrs: The House paid tribute to Amar Saheed Bhagat Singh, Rajguru & Sukhdev and observed two minutes silence as a mark of respect for the martyrs.


2.11 PM

Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra, Leader of Opposition and all other Members of Bhartiya Janta Party stood up on their seats and demanded discussion on the issue of price rise in view of the proposals in the Budget.

The Chair stated that it might be considered on 30th March 2010.


2.16 PM

Question Hour: Starred question No. 102 to 106                                 were asked and replied.  Replies to starred Question No.101, 107 to 120 and un-starred questions No. 231 to 288 were placed on the table.
























3.00 PM





















Shri Hari Shanker Gupta and Shri Rajesh Lilothia Hon’ble Members again sought to know the fate of the notices of Breach of Privilege given by them against the Leader of Opposition.

The Chair stated that two separate notices were received by the Assembly Secretariat on the aforesaid issue.

The Chair delivered his ruling on the notice of Shri Hari Shanker Gupta that the House has its own dignity and Delhi Legislative Assembly has been considered as a model House all over the country.  Every Member should follow the rules and regulations of the Parliamentary procedure and              “ immature publicity to various matters connected with the business of the House is an act of impropriety” as emphasized in the Practice & Procedure of Parliament by Kaul & Shakdher.

In respect of the notice given by Shri Rajesh Lilothia, the Chair stated that Rule–75 of the ‘Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business’ provides that the person charged shall be given an opportunity to be heard for explanation or exculpation of the offence against him.  So, the notice has been sent to Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra, Leader of Opposition for his comments. 






3.05 PM


Special Mention (Rule-280):

The following Members raised matters under Rule 280:

1.     Ch. Surender Kumar

2.     Shri Naresh Gaur

3.     Shri Sat Prakash Rana

4.     Shri Kulwant Rana (Chief Minister intervened.)

5.     Shri Sunil Kumar Vaidya

6.     Shri Subhash Sachdeva

7.     Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra

8.     Dr. S.C.L. Gupta

9.     Shri Mohan Singh Bisht

10.Shri O.P.Babber

         11.Shri Mala Ram Gangwal




 3.40 PM

Papers laid on the Table:

 Smt. Sheila Dikshit, Chief Minister laid the Copy of following Reports:

  1. 8th Annual Report of Pragati Power Corporation Limited for the year 2008-09
  2. 8th Annual Report of Delhi Power Corporation Limited for the year 2008-09.
















3.41 PM

Motion for election to Financial Committees:

The Chief Minister moved the following Motion:

         “That the Members of this House do proceed to elect in the manner required under Rule 192(2), Rule 194(2) and Rule 196(2) of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Legislative Assembly, nine members from amongst themselves to serve as Members of the Public Account Committee, Estimate Committee and Committee on Government Undertakings for the term beginning from 1st April, 2010.

The Motion was put to vote and adopted unanimously.













3.42 PM

  Schedule for elections to the Financial Committees:

  Th The Chair announced the following schedule for elections to the Financial Committees:

  1. Last date for receipt of nomination - 25th March 2010 up to 5.00 P.M.
  2. Last date for withdrawal- 26th March 2010 up to 5.00 P.M.
  3. Date of Election, if necessary- 29th March 2010, 3.00 PM to 5.00 PM at Members Lounge, Old Secretariat, Delhi.



3.45 PM

Annual Budget 2010-2011:

Discussion on Annual Budget 2010-2011 presented by the Finance Minister on 22nd March 2010.

Following Members participated in the debate:

1.     Dr. Jagdish Mukhi




 4.10 PM

House adjourned for tea break.


 4.45 PM

House reassembled.

Hon’ble Speaker in Chair.


 4.46 PM

Discussion on Annual Budget (2010-2011) contd…

     1.  Dr. Jagdish Mukhi contd…

2.     Shri Mukesh Sharma

3.     Shri Anil Bhardwaj

4.     Shri Subhash Sachdeva

5.     Shri Kulwant Rana



7. 15 PM      

House adjourned upto 2.00 PM on 25th March 2010


23rd March, 2010

Siddharath Rao